MINUTES

The Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Fire Commissioners, Fire District No. 1, held on the above date, was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Vice Chairman Leuliette with Commissioner Schlindwein, Commissioner Bowman, newly elected Commissioner Keyes and newly elected Commissioner Kohart present. Also present was Steve Raymond from the Law Firm of Raymond Coleman Heinold LLP.

Vice Chairman Leuliette opened the meeting by reading the following statement:

Public Notice of this meeting, pursuant to the "Open Public Meetings Act," has been given by the Board of Fire Commissioners, Fire District No. 1, of the Township of Moorestown in the following manner: by posting written notice on the Public Meetings Act Bulletin Board in Town Hall on March 8, 2024 and entering the same in the official book of the Fire District in the Municipal Library; emailing written notice to the official newspaper, the Burlington County Times on March 14, 2024. same being published on March 19, 2024, filing written notice with the Clerk of the Township of Moorestown on March 8, 2024; filing written notice with the Clerk of the Sourd of Fire Commissioners, Fire District No. 1, mailing written notice to each person who has requested copies of the schedule of meetings and who has prepaid the fixed charge for such service, and other Social Media Outlets.

Following that, Vice Chairman Leuliette led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag, after which he indicated the emergency exits.

Vice Chairman Leuliette mentioned that Solicitor Doug Heinold was unable to make the meeting and that his partner Steve Raymond would assist with the Nominations and the Oaths of Office.

OATHS OF OFFICE:

Vice Chairman Leuliette asked Solicitor Raymond to administer the Oath of Office to Commissioner Keyes for a two-year term on the Board of Fire Commissioners ending March 2026 and Commissioner Kohart for a three-year term on the Board of Fire Commissioners ending March 2027.

Solicitor Raymond administered the oaths of office to the two newly elected Commissioners.

NOMINATIONS:

Vice Chairman Leuliette turned the meeting over to Solicitor Raymond, whom in turn handled the nomination for the Office of Chairman for the fiscal Year March 1, 2024 to February 28, 2025. Commissioner Leuliette was nominated by a motion from Commissioner Schlindwein, seconded by Commissioner Keyes. There being no further question on the motion for Commissioner Leuliette as Chairman, the nominations were closed; the motion for Commissioner Leuliette for the Office of Chairman was carried by the five Board members present.

Commissioner Schlindwein was nominated for the Office of Vice Chairman by a motion from Commissioner Bowman, seconded by Commissioner Keyes. There being no question on the motion, the nominations were closed; the motion was carried by the five Board members present.

Commissioner Kohart was nominated for the Office of Secretary/Clerk by a motion from Commissioner Leuliette, seconded by Commissioner Schlindwein. There being no question on the motion, the nominations were closed; the motion was carried by the five Board members present.

Commissioner Bowman was nominated for the Office of Treasurer by a motion from Commissioner Schlindwein, seconded by Commissioner Keyes. There being no question on the motion, the nominations were closed; the motion was carried by the five Board members present.

Commissioner Keyes was nominated for the Office of Assistant Secretary/Treasurer by a motion from Commissioner Schlindwein, seconded by Commissioner Bowman. There being no question on the motion, the nominations were closed; the motion was carried by the five Board members present.

Solicitor Raymond administered the oaths of office to the five Commissioners present.

Resolution 2024-15 "Appointment of the Officers of the Board of Fire Commissioners for the Fiscal Year March 1, 2024 to February 28, 2025" was introduced confirming the election of officers as a result of the prior motions and was read by Chairman Leuliette. A motion was offered by Commissioner Bowman and seconded by Commissioner Schlindwein. There being no question, the resolution was adopted 5-0 on a roll-call vote.

REORGANIZATION RESOLUTIONS:

Commissioner Bowman made a motion to read Resolutions 2024-16 through 2024-23 by title only; seconded by Commissioner Schlindwein. Chairman Leuliette asked if anyone had any questions or comments on the following resolutions: there being no questions he moved forward with reading the resolutions by title only.

Resolution 2024-16 "Fixing the Time & Place of Regular Meetings of the Board of Fire Commissioners, Fire District No. 1, Making Provisions Relative to Special & Emergency Meetings & Adopting Certain Procedures & Forms for the Fiscal Year March 1, 2024 to February 28, 2025" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-17 "Appointing an Auditor, Solicitor, Insurance Broker, Depository of District Funds, Employee Health and Physician Services and the Official Newspapers of the Board of Fire Commissioners for the Fiscal Year March 1, 2024 to February 28, 2025" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-18 "Public Employee Blanket Bond" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-19 "Establishing Fees for Government Records" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-20 "Establishing the Rate of Reimbursement for Mileage on Personal Vehicles & Establishing a Per Diem Rate for Official Travel" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-21 "Appointing Members to the Awards Committee of the Board of Fire Commissioners" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-22 "Appointment of a Solicitor" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

Resolution 2024-23 "*Designating a Public Agency Compliance Officer*" was read by title only by Chairman Leuliette.

A motion was offered by Commissioner Schlindwein to approve the resolutions as read by title only and seconded by Commissioner Keyes. There being no questions, the resolutions were adopted 5-0 on a roll-call vote.

REMARKS BY THE CHAIRMAN:

Chairman Leuliette recognized past Commissioner Shelley and Fisher for all the work that they did for the department and welcomed Commissioner Keyes and Kohart. He looks forward to working with each of them. The Board has worked hard to include membership when discussing where they see the department presently and in the future. The department has changed over the years, and he asked that the Board continue to support the volunteers that serve this great town. Chairman Leuliette stated that he is looking forward to a very productive year ahead.

OTHER BUSINESS:

Chairman Leuliette noted that Commissioner Keyes will be placed on the Award's Committee per the above resolution. There will be some additional committee changes and will keep everyone posted on the same.

Chairman Leuliette briefed the new Commissioners on the past department meeting and the need for an additional meeting to finish reviewing the survey that was sent out to the membership. Three questions were discussed, and the remaining seven questions will be addressed at the next meeting that will be set in the near future. Chairman Leuliette would also like to continue setting aside time at all Board meetings for strategic planning discussions.

Former Commissioner Shelley who was present at the meeting welcomed the new Board members and wished the new Board the best of luck.

There being no more comments or announcements, on a motion by Commissioner Leuliette, seconded by Commissioner Shelley, the reorganization meeting was adjourned at 7:31 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Samuel J. Schlindwein Secretary/Clerk